

Jamie Link
Secretary
Education and Labor Cabinet

Dr. Robbie Fletcher Commissioner of Education

KENTUCKY DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

300 Sower Boulevard • Frankfort, Kentucky 40601 Phone: (502) 564-3141 • www.education.ky.gov

July 9, 2024 Interim Joint Committee on Appropriations & Revenue Jennifer Hays, Committee Staff Administrator 702 Capital Ave Frankfort, KY 40601

RE: EKSAFE Funds Report (July 2024)

Dear Co-Chairs Senator McDaniel and Representative Petrie:

HB 1 (2022 SS) establishes the East Kentucky State Aid Funds for Emergencies (EKSAFE) Fund to provide disaster relief for areas impacted by the July 2022 storms and flooding. Included in the appropriation is \$40M to the Kentucky Department of Education (KDE) for impacted school districts. KDE is required to report to the Interim Joint Committee on Appropriations and Revenue beginning on September 10, 2022, and every month thereafter through July 10, 2026. The report will include the name of each school district receiving EKSAFE funds, the dollar amount of funds issued, a description of how the funds were used, and a list of all requests submitted. The list of submitted requests shall include the amount requested, any denials with the reason for denial, and if the award is more or less than requested, an explanation for the increase or decrease.

Please allow this letter and the attached spreadsheet to serve as the required report. Please find attached information which includes:

- 1. The name of each school district receiving moneys from the fund;
- 2. The dollar amount of moneys issued and the dates of issuance;
- 3. A description of how the moneys were used;
- 4. A list of all requests:
 - a. Submitted, including the amount requested;
 - b. Denied, including a description of the reason for the denial; and
 - c. Any amount awarded increase

If members of the Committee have questions, please do not hesitate to contact me at the email or phone number below.

Sincerely,

Matthew T. Ross

Associate Commissioner

matt.ross@education.ky.gov (502)564-1976

Cc: Chay Ritter Karen Wirth Brian Perry

